Learning Photoshop

I have signed up to teach a one week summer camp in which I have to plan the entire week’s worth of activities.  This will be a camp for 6th grade and up called Totally Tech.   I am just now in the planning phase trying to come up with a theme and technology activities that will keep these teenagers engaged and having fun.  My concern is that they may very well know more about this technology business than I do!  Of course, I try to stay ahead of the technology curve and I get a lot of great ideas when I go to my technology liaison meetings.  However, I have never really tried these ideas out on real live kids – much less middle school aged kids (I am used to 4th graders).

So, I have started playing around with some project ideas. I want the theme of the camp to be self-expression.  I am trying to come up with at least 5 different web 2.0 tools or programs (1 per day) that we can use to express who these kids are, what they like, and who they want to be.

My first project that I want to do with the kids is to make an iPod style ad.  You know the ones with the silhouette on a very vibrant background.  We will take photos of the kids in a pose that represents them in some way.  Then, we will use Photoshop Elements to turn that photo into a silhouette, give it a colorful background, and add text.

In order to teach the kids how to do this, I kinda need to know how to do it myself.  So I looked up videos on YouTube and found some really good tutorials.  I downloaded a free 30 day trial of Photoshop Elements on my Mac and got started playing around.

I started with this photo of my husband.

Dustin

I followed the steps on this Teachertube video – How to Make an iPod Ad.  I also added my own touches because I wanted his badge to show in full color to contrast the silhouette.  I used the little bit that I had learned about Photoshop from the Teachertube video tutorial and figured out how to select just the badge and copy it onto a new layer on top of the silhouette layer.  I had a lot of fun playing around with it until I got it to look like I wanted it.  Here is my final product.

I can’t wait to see what the kids come up with.  If we have time, I would love to make several different photos that express who they are and put them into a video with music.  Wouldn’t it be fun for them to pick their own theme song?  I may be getting in way over my head but I’m gonna try it!

This entry was posted in Teachable Moments, Technology Tidbits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

