Update on 4th of July Wreath

Okay so apparently I don’t know much about how to hang a wreath appropriately.  I bought an over the door wreath hanger yesterday while I was at Hobby Lobby.  I picked a plastic one instead of a metal one because I liked how it was clear and it wouldn’t take away from the overall look of the wreath.  I hung it last night and struggled to get the front door to close all the way once it was hung (is that normal?)  I forced the front door closed and went about the rest of my evening.  When I opened the door this morning my wreath fell to the ground.  The plastic hanger had broken – most likely from me trying to force the door closed!

It is raining today – the first time in what seems like forever!  I love it but I don’t really want to get out in it to go buy another more sturdy wreath hanger.  Especially because I don’t know if I will have the same issue with the door not wanting to close all the way.  I’m sure the metal ones might be a little thinner than this plastic one so it might work better.  So I thought back to other wreaths I was thinking about making last night and one of them had a navy ribbon as the hanger.  I figured I could use the fabric I had left over and fashion some sort of similar hanger.  I don’t sew so I just cut the strip of fabric and folded the edges in so it wouldn’t look ragged and ironed it flat.  Then, I draped it over the door and used a push-pin on the inside of the door to secure it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s definitely not the most professional way to hang a wreath but it’s what I could come up with and not have to get out in the rain.  And my door closes much easier than with the plastic hanger!  If I had more confidence in my ability to draw and cut a symmetrical star, I might add a few white or red stars on the blue ribbon.  But for now, I’ll leave it like it is!

This entry was posted in DIY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

