Learning that You’re not Always in Control is NOT Easy

Have you ever had those days when you feel like everything is going according to plan?  You’ve got the vision, you can see the big picture, and you know the puzzle pieces are all lining up.  Life is never perfect but you’re feeling pretty good.  And then, things beyond your control sneak in and remind you that you were never really in control in the first place!

It’s hard when life slaps you in the face with that kind of reality.  Its even harder to deal with the helplessness that goes along with that territory.  What are you supposed to do when nothing you can do will make a difference anyway?

When I think about that question, I automatically think of my Mimi.  I know her answer would be simply, PRAY!  I saw this quote a couple of weeks ago that really struck a chord with me:

God answers in 3 ways: He says yes & gives you what you want, He says no & gives you something better, or He says wait & gives you the best.

This is a really comforting thought that no matter what we do or what happens in our lives that things are never out of control completely.  They may not be in OUR control but they are in HIS control.  Who better to be in control than the one who knows it all?!  (Sometimes it’s hard to admit that I, in fact, may not know it all…)  So we pray that His will be done and that we will not only survive but thrive in all the hardships as well as revel in the good times He has in store for us.

Still, I am struggling with handling uncertainty.  For a control freak like me, I feel an extreme need to be in the know, to see the big picture, and to have all the details worked out.  Until I see that my prayers have been answered in the way that God will choose to answer, I have to keep reminding myself of Jeremiah 29:11:

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

It’s hard to give up that sense of being in control but knowing that God’s plan will be better for me than what I could ever come up with on my own makes it a little easier.

How do you handle uncertainty and feeling helpless and out of control?  What makes waiting for God’s answer easier for you?

This entry was posted in Learning the Hard Way. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning that You’re not Always in Control is NOT Easy

  1. Norma says:

    It isn’t tough to recognize why this web site was initial in the google results, outstanding content with appropriate material. Are you doing anything specific to market your articles or perhaps is it on the 1st page naturally?

    • Thank you, Norma. I am surprised my blog shows up in search engines at all honestly! It is just something I started to organize/share my thoughts but I don’t have any intentions of marketing it at all. I have always been able to sort through my own thoughts through writing them down so this was just a natural progression of that need to understand myself a little better and get through some tough times.

Leave a Reply

