Officially a Stay at Home Mom (for now)…

I have now made it to the viability point in my pregnancy!  It feels so good to have made it this far but we still have a ways to go.  I am feeling more movement now and it makes smile every time I feel him.

The doctors have agreed that the bed rest is working and while my cervix has been teetering on the borderline of concern, it seems to be holding steady for now.  Until the little man is better able to survive on his own, we are not taking any chances and are going to continue the modified bed rest.  When we discussed this at my last appointment, I felt a sense of relief at first because I know that this is what is best for my little man.  But I didn’t realize exactly what that would mean for my job.  I had to have the doctor fill out some official forms for the HR department in which he had to mark when I could return to work.  It didn’t hit me until I left the office that he wouldn’t be releasing me for work until at least mid May (I’ll be 37 weeks then).  At that point, my sense of relief turned in to a sense of fear of the unknown.

I have always wanted to be a stay at home mom but I never envisioned the time off work coming before I had my baby!  It is weird that I can’t finish out the year and I feel like I’m leaving a lot of loose ends.  We aren’t financially ready for me to stay home full-time, so I will be returning to work next year.

In my down time, I have taken up several projects that I can do while seated. I am learning to crochet and have started this bobble blanket for the baby.IMG_0118

It doesn’t look like much yet because I’m very slow at crocheting but it is coming along nicely I think!  It is something to keep me busy while watching horrible day time television!

Also, I got the bright idea that I could make all the nursery bedding!  I have seen so many cute ideas on Pinterest and Etsy but couldn’t find anything in the stores that I liked.  And everything on Etsy was way too expensive.  So I decided that it couldn’t be that hard to make it on my own!  Haha!  I roped my mom into helping me since I have no sewing experience at all!  We had a great weekend together and she was very patient in teaching me how to do everything.  Needless to say, it took a lot longer than I anticipated because I’m slow at sewing too!  We didn’t finish this weekend, but I took her sewing machine and accessories home with me and I’ve been slowly working on it on my own now.  So far, my mom and I finished the crib skirt and one of the sheets together and then I tackled the teething guards on my own.  Here is how it turned out!  It is by no means a professional job but I am kind of proud of our handy-work!

IMG_0133

I will be making curtains to match and another crib sheet that will have a little more detail to it than the first one.

Once I’m done with this project, I will have to find something else to occupy my time that I can do while seated or lying down!  I don’t do well with idle time so anything to keep my mind and hands busy is a must to survive the boredom of bed rest!

This entry was posted in DIY, Pregnancy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Officially a Stay at Home Mom (for now)…

  1. mybabematt says:

    How about posting some baby bump pictures for those of us that don’t see you often. 🙂

  2. Kathy says:

    Wow- you are learning so many little things, I am impressed. I did not realize you we’re not back at work. I am still praying for you everyday.

Leave a Reply

